Career Readiness

PYD’s Career Readiness Program is an inclusive job-readiness program that addresses barriers to employment for youth and young adults with disabilities. This program has existed for over 20 years and impacts the lives of over 100 youth annually.

Our Career Readiness Program addresses barriers to employment via a three-tiered curriculum involving academic learning, real-world experiences, and mentoring. The curriculum is based upon the principles of Universal Design for Learning and includes flexible goals, methods, materials, assessments, and accommodations for learning differences.

We are currently teaching our career readiness curriculum in 7+ Boston Public School classrooms, plus offering a community after-school program. This after-school program consists of weekly workshops, job shadow experiences, and career exploration activities. Sign up today to take part!

Youth Requirements

  • Resident of the Greater Boston Area
  • Between the ages of 14-22 with a documented disability
  • Must attend high school or post-secondary programming

Program Details

  • Enrollment is rolling, so sign up anytime
  • Monthly calendars are available with days and times for each workshop and event
  • Meetings occur at community locations in Somerville, Cambridge, and Boston

Program Contacts

Lindsay Alperin profile picture

Lindsay Alperin

Youth Services Director
She, Her, Hers

Phone: 617-556-4075 x125

Email: lalperin@pyd.org

Becca Cronin profile picture

Becca Cronin

Career Readiness Program Manager

Phone: 617-556-4075 x131

Email: rcronin@pyd.org

Olivia Harris

Career Readiness Program Coordinator
She, Her, Hers

Phone: 617-556-4075 x128

Email: oharris@pyd.org

Ann Kamensky profile picture

Ann Kamensky

Pre-Employment Program Specialist
She, Her, Hers

Email: akamensky@pyd.org

Mary Krathwohl profile picture

Mary Krathwohl

Career Readiness Program Coordinator
She, Her, Hers

Phone: 617-556-4075 x129

Email: mkrathwohl@pyd.org

Darryl Sanchez profile picture

Darryl Sanchez

Career Readiness Program Coordinator
He, Him, His

Phone: 617-556-4075 x134

Email: dsanchez@pyd.org

McCoy Sikes profile picture

McCoy Sikes

Pre-Employment Program Coordinator
He, Him, His

Phone: 617-556-4075 x128

Email: msikes@pyd.org